Catechism 101 – Lesson 9: Scripture – Canon

To view more Catechism 101 lesson plans, go to the Catechism 101 archive.

Image Template

Reading Material: Catechism of the Catholic Church 120-133

Objective: Students will understand the nature and importance of the Canon of Sacred Scripture

Main Ideas:

  1. The Church (Tradition) defined the Canon of Sacred Scripture. The Bible includes 46 Old Testament books and 27 New Testament books.
  2. The Old Testament prepares the way for the coming of Jesus in the New Testament, and bears witness to God’s love.
  3. Jesus Christ is the central object of the New Testament.
  4. The Gospel’s are the heart of all Scripture, and were formed in three stages: the life of Jesus, oral tradition about Jesus, the written books of the Gospel.
  5. Sacred Scripture plays a very important role in the life of the Church, and all Christians are encouraged to read the Scriptures frequently.

Learning Activities:

Ages 6-8

Focus: Learning the books of the Bible

Activity: Memorize the books of the Bible, divided into the New Testament and the Old Testament.

Ages 9-11

Focus: The relationship between the Old Testament and the New Testament

Activity #1: Read three or more of the following passages in the Old Testament:

  • Genesis 3:15
  • Isaiah 53
  • Isaiah 7:14
  • Michah 5:2
  • 2 Sam 7:12-13
  • Hosea 11:1
  • Zechariah 11:12-13

Then answer the following question, orally or in writing: How is each of these passages preparing us for the coming of Jesus in the New Testament?

Activity #2: Read pages 29-30 of The Catholic Understanding of the Bible (The Canon of the Bible Intro and the first subsection, “The Old and New Testaments”).  Complete the following comprehension worksheet.

Worksheet 9-11

Ages 11-13


Activity: Read pages 30-36 of The Catholic Understanding of the Bible. The write a brief essay responding to the following: Explain in your own words how the canons of the New and Old Testaments developed. At one point, there were two different Jewish canons of the Old Testament. Which one was adopted by the Church and why?

Leave a Reply